2014 CBAA Award - Tony Staley Award Winners The Wire

Community Radio's Night Of Nights: 2014 Award Winners

enadmin, 9th November 2014

On the evening of Saturday 8 November, community broadcasters from across Australia gathered in Adelaide for the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia’s (CBAA) annual Awards. The Awards are a celebration of community broadcasting excellence and recognise the accomplishments of community radio stations and personnel across 23 categories.

This year the Tony Staley Award for Excellence in Community Broadcasting went to The Wire, community radio’s national current affairs program. The Wire is available via the Community Radio Network satellite and the CAAMA Radio satellite to more than 200 stations in city, regional, rural and remote communities, including many remote Indigenous communities and places with no other broadcast media. It is run by a consortium of progressive community broadcasters: Radio Adelaide, 2SER in Sydney and 4EB in Brisbane.
The Michael Law Award for sustained and outstanding contributions to community broadcasting was given to two very deserving joint winners this year – Maureen O’Keeffe and Nicky Page.
Maureen O’Keeffe has been involved in community broadcasting for more than 20 years. Starting at the then-3YYR, where she was instrumental in training people to operate this new community radio station. After a sojourn to the ABC, O’Keefe returned to community broadcasting, taking on training in South Africa before heading to Alice Springs to manage Indigenous radio station CAAMA, then 3ZZZ in Melbourne. She was also on the board of the CBAA and Melbourne’s 3MBS, and part of the General Grants Advisory Committee at sector funding body, the Community Broadcasting Foundation.
Nicky Page has been the Training Manager at Radio Adelaide for 15 years. Since 1996, she’s worked tirelessly as part of this registered training organisation. Her talent for bringing people together and managing the logistics of accredited training have seen her involved in a number of partnerships, including a decade long relationship with CAAMA Radio, training their staff and volunteers. Page started as a volunteer at Adelaide’s Three D Radio.
“The staff and volunteers at stations around the country work tirelessly each and every day, and it is always an honour and a pleasure to recognise some of the outstanding achievements each year,” said CBAA General Manager Jon Bisset. 

2014 CBAA Award Winners

  • Excellence in Community Participation: Community Outlook, 3MDR 97.1fm
  • Outstanding Volunteer Contribution: Rebekah Lowe, 5THE FM
  • Best Digital Media Initiative: Star Observer Digital, 2SER 107.3
  • Excellence in Training: Inclusive Training Program, Harvey Community Radio 96.5fm
  • Best New Radio Program – Talks: Brothers, CAAMA Radio
  • Best New Radio Program – Music: Jump Up With Jesse, Harvey Community Radio 96.5fm
  • Contribution to Australian Music: Brisbane Live Music Week, 4ZZZ
  • Contribution to Indigenous Broadcasting: CAAMA Radio           
  • Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting: Where Are You From?, 4EB
  • Excellence in Music Programming: Soul Time, PBS 106.7FM
  • Excellence in Spoken Word, News and Current Affairs Programming: Memories of Sarajevo - Radio Zid: Rock Under Siege, Bay FM 99.9
  • Outstanding Youth Contribution: Audrey Flannery, Mitchell Community Radio
  • Best Station Production: A Christmas Carol Promo, Bay FM 99.9
  • Best Station Promotion, Sponsorship or Fundraising Campaign: TransMISSION, Fresh 92.7
  • Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming: Pride Cup Round - Match of the Day, 3MDR 97.1fm
  • Most Innovative Outside Broadcast or Special Event Broadcast: World AIDS Day Worldwide, JOY 94.9
  • The Outstanding Small Station Award: 8CCC Community Radio 
  • Excellence in Technical / IT Services: Mark Farley, Ian Moore & Glen Donhardt, Three D Radio      
  • Tony Staley Award: The Wire   
  • Michael Law Award: Maureen O’Keeffe and Nicky Page
  • National Documentary and Features Competition: Maddy MacFarlane, PBS 


Facebook comments



Tonight, hundreds of community broadcasters from across Australia gathered in Melbourne for the 2016 CBAA Community Radio Awards. Winners were announced across 20 categories celebrating community broadcasting excellence and recognising the accomplishments of community radio services and the people behind them.


The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia (CBAA) today announced the finalists in the 2016 CBAA Community Radio Awards, a national awards program recognising excellence in community broadcasting.


CBAA Awards - celebrating excellence in community broadcasting.