2016 CBAA Community Radio Awards

2016 CBAA Community Radio Awards Finalists Announced

Helen Henry, 26th July 2016

The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia (CBAA) today announced the finalists in the 2016 CBAA Community Radio Awards, a national awards program recognising excellence in community broadcasting.

CBAA Chief Executive Officer Jon Bisset congratulated all finalists in this year’s awards, which attracted a record number of entries.

“We are excited to build on last year’s record number of entries in 2016. Thank you to everyone that entered this year and congratulations to all our finalists. We look forward to celebrating and announcing the winners in November as part of our national conference.”

“These awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate some of the incredible work happening in hundreds of community radio stations across Australia every day. In a dynamic media environment, and with more options than ever for audiences to choose from, the importance and impact of community radio continues to grow. The finalists in year’s awards represent the diversity of stations, programs and initiatives which reflect and serve communities in every State and Territory around Australia.”

A full list of finalists is available below. Winners of these awards (as well as the Tony Staley Excellence in Community Broadcasting and Michael Law awards (no finalists announced)) will be revealed at a gala dinner taking place in Melbourne on Saturday, 12 November.

2016 CBAA Community Radio Awards Finalists

Best New Radio Program – Music
  • Female Australian Composers Project for International Women’s Day – 3MBS
  • The Amplifier – 4ZZZ
  • The Arcane Ear – Bay FM 99.9
  • Andrew Gurruwiwi Show – Yolngu Radio
Best New Radio Program – Talks
  • SoundMinds Radio – Bay FM 99.9
  • Behind The Headlines – Radio Skid Row
  • Radio In Colour – 4ZZZ 40th Documentary Series – 4ZZZ
  • Dhäwu Dhäwu Show – Yolngu Radio
Best Station Production
  • Belgrave Heights Christian School – 89.9 LightFM
  • 40th Birthday Promotions – 4ZZZ
  • Turn Up The Vote – Bay FM 99.9
  • Up For It – FBi Radio
Best Station Promotion or Fundraising Campaign
  • Charlotte The Emu Project – CROW FM 90.7
  • LightPartner Day – Your News – 89.9 LightFM
  • 40 Years of 4ZZZ – 4ZZZ
  • Fresh 5000 – Fresh 92.7
  • Improve Our Signal with Eastside Radio 89.7 FM – Eastside Radio 89.7 FM
Contribution to Australian Music
  • 6DBY Larrkardi Radio
  • In The Pines 2016 - RTRFM
  • 2NVR Youth Music Program – 2NVR Radio Nambucca
  • Fresh 92.7’s Contemporary Music Program – Fresh 92.7
Excellence in Community Participation
  • SYN Nation Kimberley Partnership – SYN Media
  • 4MBS Major Festivals – 4MBS Classic FM
  • Waringarri Radio
  • 2NVR Youth Music Program – 2NVR Radio Nambucca
Excellence in Digital Media
  • 104.9 Sunshine FM
  • The View From Here Series 2 - RTRFM
  • fbiradio.com – FBi Radio
  • Hope 103.2 Advent Calendar – Hope 103.2
  • The Wire – Radio Adelaide, 2SER, Radio 4EB
Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement
  • Radio 4EB
  • Radio 4NAG FM 91.3
Excellence in Indigenous Engagement
  • CAAMA Radio
  • 6NME Noongar Radio
  • US Mob FM
  • ARDS Yolngu Radio
Excellence in Music Programming
  • New Australian Music for HSC – Fine Music 102.5
  • Local Noise – Radio Adelaide
  • The Phantom Dancer – 2SER
  • Global Village on PBS 106.7 FM – PBS 106.7 FM
Excellence in Spoken Word, News and Current Affairs Programming
  • Anangu Lands Paper Tracker Radio Show – Radio Adelaide
  • World Wide Wave – JOY 94.9
  • Exodus – The Irish Story – 107.3 HFM
  • Wavelength – Fresh 92.7
Excellence in Technical Services
  • Jim Parish OAM – Hobart FM 96.1
  • David Miller – 3MDR Mountain District Radio 97.1 FM
  • Richard Fleming – 2SER
  • Nick La Rosa – FBi Radio
Excellence in Training
  • Radio Adelaide RTO – Radio Adelaide
  • Ethnically Diverse Women Broadcasting & Mentorship Program – SYN Media
  • Radio In Colour – 4ZZZ 40th Documentary Series – 4ZZZ
  • 3CR’s Women and Gender Diverse Live To Air Training – 3CR
Most Innovative Outside Broadcast or Special Event Broadcast
  • Live From Town Hall Concert – Fine Music 102.5 FM
  • Inside Love – Noongar Radio
  • 3CR Exhibition Broadcasts – 3CR
  • 4ZZZ Flashback – Live Broadcast – 4ZZZ
Outstanding Small Station Award
  • MAINfm 94.9
  • TLC FM 100.3
  • 4YOU 98.5 FM
  • 3BBR-FM
  • 101.3fm Collie Community Radio
Outstanding Volunteer Contribution
  • Rob Stewart – 8EAR Gove FM
  • Hereward Dundas-Taylor – Radio Blue Mountains
  • Jocelyn Scherf – Alpine Radio
  • Ben Menaglio – 101.3fm Collie Community Radio
  • Diane Hamilton – 4YOU 98.5 FM
Outstanding Youth Contribution
  • Rachael Ward – SYN Media
  • Dylan Websdane – RTRFM
  • Ben Scott-Smith – Radio Blue Mountains
  • Zeina Tebbo – Muslim Community Radio
  • Anastacia Diane Hannay – 4YOU 98.5 FM
Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming
  • Sideline Eyes – 2SSR 99.7 FM
  • CAAMA Sports Show – CAAMA Radio
  • Big Gee Up – 2XX
  • The Huddle – Hills Radio 88.9FM

Facebook comments



The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia has today revealed the finalists in its 2017 CBAA Community Radio Awards.


The finalists for the 2018 CBAA Community Radio Awards for the best in Australia’s community broadcasting sector have been announced.


The full list of Award finalists can be found below. Winners will be announced at the CBAA Conference 27-29 October, along with the recepients of the Michael Law and Tony Staley Awards. 

Congratulations to all who has participated in this years program.