Emergency Services State by State

ACT - Emergency Services Agency

The ACT Emergency Services Agency (ESA) is the ACT Government organisation charged with providing emergency management services to the Canberra community.

The ESA comprises the ACT Ambulance Service, ACT Fire & Rescue, the ACT Rural Fire Service, the ACT State Emergency Service and the ESA Support Services.

The ACT Emergency Services Agency (ESA) provides emergency information, advice and warnings to the community in a number of ways, including electronic media outlets, the ESA website, social media, Canberra Connect, an ACT Government website that collects community feedback.

NSW - The State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC)

The community of New South Wales lives with a variety of natural and technological hazards. The more common hazards are floods, severe storms, and bushfires but other events such as exotic animal disease, major aircraft crashes and earthquakes are possible. Emergency Management involves a range of programs and arrangements designed to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from the effects of hazards impacting on the community.

The State Emergency Management Committee was established under the State Emergency and Rescue Management Act to ensure that New South Wales has a system to cope with emergencies which is robust, effective and flexible enough to deal with the range of hazards experienced in New South Wales. A hazard impacting on the community may result in an emergency. 

The Committee has set up a web page centralising social media updates from all NSW emergency services for the community. Broadcasters should follow protocol before sharing emergency information on air.

VIC - Emergency Management Victoria

Emergency Management Victoria (EMV) is the overarching body which supports and enables the Emergency Management Commissioner (EMC) to fulfil their role. The Emergency Management Commissioner is responsible for the overall response to major emergencies, including coordinating the management of the consequences of the emergency.

EMV plays a key role in implementing the Victorian Government’s emergency management reform agenda. This work will drive how Victoria’s emergency services organisations train together, work to common operating standards, share the same operational picture, and use equipment and systems that work together.

The Victorian Government has formal arrangements for the broadcast of emergency warnings and information to the community. 

Victoria has Memoranda of Understanding with a number of broadcasters and Emergency Management Victoria is the administrator of Victoria’s emergency broadcasting policy on behalf of the emergency services, including the CFA, Department of Environment and Primary Industries  (DEPI), Metropolitan Fire Brigade (MFB) and the Victoria State Emergency Services (VICSES).

During emergencies, Victoria’s emergency broadcasters will broadcast information, including updates and community alerts, which will help the public to make decisions based on the advice of the emergency services.

In November 2015, the EMV also established a central website for all Victorian emergency information.

In 2016 Victoria's emergency broadcasting network expanded to include three additional community radio stations.

NT - Northern Territory Emergency Service

The Northern Territory Emergency Service (NTES) is a division of the Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services (NTPFES). The NTES is responsible for facilitating Emergency Management planning, raising public awareness of potential disasters and providing a response capability for emergency events through dedicated volunteers, in cooperation with NT and Local Government, as well as community groups.

QLD - Emergency Management Queensland

Emergency Management Queensland (EMQ) contributes to safer, more resilient and sustainable communities by delivering services through:

  • leading and coordinating activities undertaken before, during and after a disaster or emergency to minimise adverse community impacts
  • disaster awareness including community safety and education programs, and the Emergency Services Cadets
  • response and recovery services including State Emergency Service (SES) volunteers, Emergency Service Units, EMQ Helicopter Rescue and state disaster response management
  • supporting volunteer marine rescue organisations as well as contract and community helicopter providers
  • actively engaging with local government to promote disaster management and volunteer management priorities.
SA - South Australian Fire and Emergency Services Commission

The South Australian Fire and Emergency Services Commission (SAFECOM) is the agency responsible for supporting the Country Fire Service, Metropolitan Fire Service and the State Emergency Service, undertaking strategic policy planning, governance and resource allocation for the overall fire and emergency services sector. SAFECOM also supports emergency management planning across South Australia.

TAS - State Emergency Service

The State Emergency Service (SES) provides a volunteer response capability for a range of general rescue and community support roles. In addition the SES provides whole of government advice and executive support to the State Emergency Management Committee and Regional Emergency Management Planning Groups.  It also takes the lead with much of the State's emergency management planning and emergency risk management work.

WA - Department of Fire and Emergency Services

As Western Australia’s leading hazard management agency, the Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES) performs a critical role coordinating emergency services for a range of natural disasters and emergency incidents threatening life and property. Supported by an extensive network of over 29,000 volunteers and 1100 career firefighters DFES works together with the community and government to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from a diverse range of emergencies.