2021 CBAA Community Radio Awards


Do you want to enter the 2021 CBAA Community Radio Awards?

With more than 30 categories, the CBAA Community Radio Awards celebrate innovation, perseverance and community champions within our sector. Entrants Guide

There are categories for stations, teams/individuals, initiatives and programs. Entries must focus on activities that took place between 1 May 2020 and 30 April 2021. So get your thinking hat on, and start planning your entry!

Read about the Selection Criteria for all categories and don't forget to check out the Terms and Conditions in our Entrants Guide.

Applications are now open until the 15 August. 

If you have any questions, please email support@cbaa.org.au or call 02 9310 2999.

Awards Categories

Entries must focus on activity undertaken between 1 May 2020 and 30 April 2021.

  • Excellence in Indigenous Engagement
  • Best Station Production
  • Best Station Fundraising Campaign: Small Station
  • Best Station Fundraising Campaign
  • Excellence in Community Engagement
  • Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement
  • Excellence in Outside Broadcasting
  • Best Special Event Broadcast
  • Outstanding Small Station Award
  • Tony Staley Award
  • Best Radio Program – Music
  • Best Radio Program – Talks
  • Excellence in Innovative Programming and Content
  • Best New Radio Program
  • Contribution to Australian Music – Radio Program
  • Contribution to Australian Music – Initiative
  • Excellence in Indigenous Broadcasting
  • Excellence in Ethnic & Multicultural Broadcasting
  • Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming
  • Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming
  • Excellence in Creative Audio
  • Excellence in Digital Media
  • Best Online Content
  • Excellence in Training
  • Excellence in Music Presenting
  • Excellence in Journalism
  • Excellence in Technical Services
  • Excellence in Technical Innovation
  • Outstanding Volunteer Contribution
  • Outstanding Youth Contribution
  • Station Leadership Award
  • Michael Law Award

Alex Crerar, 13th July 2021

We asked Erin Dick, of SYN, who won the Excellence in Digtal Media Award, a few questions about the station's achievements. 

Alex Crerar, 8th July 2021

Warren Barnett, CBAA's Outstanding Volunteer Contribution Award, joint winner 2020. Highland FM. 

Alex Crerar, 7th July 2021

Adam Stoked, Station Manager, Highland FM

Alex Crerar, 5th July 2021

MainFM is a small station with a big heart that emanates positivity – you can hear it in the sound.

Holly Friedlander Liddicoat, 28th June 2021

The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia (CBAA) is excited to launch the 2021 CBAA Community Radio Awards—celebrating the sector’s innovation, perseverance and its community champions