First Sounds Volume 8 is Out Now!

Amy Leiper, 6th July 2022
First Nations Media Australia’s indigiTUBE project and Amrap have released 8th volume of First Sounds promotional compilation CDs produced through the partnership since the first volume was produced in 2020. First Sounds Vol.8 is the first of 3 compilations set for release in 2022 and will be distributed to over 200 community radio stations through Amrap’s CD Mailout service and will also be available, along with all tracks from previous volumes, on both the Amrap website and the indigiTube website and app.

A panel of four First Nations established musicians and music industry professionals had the difficult task of selecting the tracks that feature on First Sounds Vol.8 from the number of high quality entries we have come to expect from the Nations’ talent. This round of entries was so hotly contested that a total of 13 tracks have been selected for Vol.8, breaking the existing tradition of First Sounds featuring 12 tracks per release. Entries for First Sounds Vol.9 will open towards the end of June.


Mi-kaisha, whose track Brand New is the opening track of First Sounds Vol.8, said, "It's always such an honour to be part of projects by our Mob, for our Mob. It just makes me feel so proud of what our communities have built, the empires and the cultures that we are responsible for! I make music for my people and my community and to know that my music will reach more Mob through First Sounds VOL.8 is so exciting to me."

First Sounds Vol.8 includes tracks featuring 6 First Nations languages and the artists on the compilation together represent over 20 First Nations communities from across the continent. The 13 tracks of featured on First Sounds Vol.8 spans genres, sharing stories that are personal, social, political and at times spiritual. From the mesmerising stripped back track Wanyarra from Carissa Nyalu sung in Dja Dja Wurrung, through to full band tracks such as Andrew Gurruwiwi Band’s irresistible debut Gatjumak fresh from the Yolŋu Nation and to the pop/hip hop collaboration of Akala Newman and BLACX with Spell on Me. First Sounds Vol.8 has something for everyone.

To date, First Sounds releases have featured over 80 incredible artists with even more, by way of those unselected entrants, also being featured on the Amrap site and indigiTUBE platform. 

First Sounds Vol 8 Tracklist
  • Brand New - Mi-kaisha  
  • Gatjumak - Andrew Gurruwiwi Band 
  • Wanyarra - Carissa Nyalu 
  • Battlefield ft. Elijah Williams - Eju and Gordon Robertson 
  • Mountains - Zack Mcleod 
  • Spell on Me ft. BLACX - Akala Newman 
  • Noonkanbah Im Coming Home - Jamahl Button 
  • Reconciliation - Garry Kafoa 
  • Arelh-Alywarra (Alywarra Woman) - Desert Eagles 
  • Radical Seed - Catherine Satour 
  • Karu Lungka-Da - Harold Dalywaters 
First Sounds is a series of music releases which promote emerging independent First Nations talent, curated by a panel of established First Nations musicians and industry. Developed in partnership in 2020 between the CBAA and First Nations Media Australia (FNMA), specifically their respective projects the Amrap and indigiTUBE, First Sounds aims to increase the volume of First Nations music played on community radio across Australia. In total over 70 independent First Nations recording musicians have been featured on releases through the First Sounds partnership.

FNMA is the national peak body for the First Nations media and communications industry, supporting the maintenance of language and culture, self-representation, community development and cultural safety through media practice.. FNMA manage the indigiTUBE platform which showcases content produced by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, including music conten and provides curated and technologically appropriate access to First Nations content for audiences all over Australia, including in remote communities.


Facebook comments



The First Nations Media Australia's indigiTUBE project and Amrap announce that First Sounds Volume 9 is open for submissions. Entries are open now and close on Monday 18 July.


The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia and First Nations Media Australia are thrilled to continue showcasing new and emerging First Nations artists from around Australia with the release of First Sounds Volume 5


First Sounds Volume 9, a compilation of music by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander musicians, is out now through CBAA's Amrap.