2023 Community Radio Awards Winners

Congratulations to the 2023 CBAA Community Radio Award Winners

Joshua Cole, 6th November 2023

This has been a significant year for community broadcasters, with the release of Roadmap 2033 paving a ten-year vision for the community broadcasting sector, and the government's ongoing review into sector sustainability. This year's CBAA Conference explored these and many more issues of significance for the sector and Australia at large, including climate change and the ongoing need to the Close the Gap for Indigenous communities. Disasters such as floods and bushfires continue to pose a challenge for stations, and it has been rewarding to see the resilience they have shown in dealing with these while continuing to support their communities.

The 2023 Community Radio Awards were a reflection of this dynamic time for the sector, with a record 350+ entries from a diverse range of stations across the country. The Awards provided a chance for the sector to come together and celebrate all of the hard work and success of stations and the exceptional individuals who keep them on air. Congratulations to all the finalists and winners, and a big thank you to everyone who entered.  


The 2023 Winners are listed below: 

Excellence in Innovative Programming and Content  

Vision Australia Radio – The Career Path 

Best Radio Program – Talks 

MainFM - Saltgrass  

Contribution to Australian Music – Initiative  

Edge Radio - I Love Tassie Music 

Excellence in Music Presenting - Drive  

104.1 Territory FM - Matt Bern 

Best Radio Program – Music 

104.1 Territory FM - Fresh Mint  

Contribution to Australian Music - Radio Program 

RTRFM - Songlines 

Best New Radio Program 

Sonshine (89.5FM) - Table Talk 

Best Online Content

RTRFM - The View From Here - Season 6  

Excellence in Creative Audio 

2NURFM - War on the Doorstep 

Excellence in Digital Media 

MainFM - Pride Across the Ages Podcast presented by Queer and Now 

Best Station Production 

3CR - Stay Tuned, Stay Radical 

Excellence in Outside Broadcasting 

JOY Media - ChillOut 2023 

Best Special Event Broadcast 

2MFM - Embracing Cultural Diversity: The Grand African Mawlid Celebration Broadcast on 2MFM  

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming 

2NVR Nambucca Valley Radio - That's a Wrap 

Excellence in Journalism 

2DRY FM - 2023 Menindee Mass Fish Kill: How it happened 

Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming 

Fresh 92.7 - Wavelength: Data Breaches, Voice of Parliament & the Lord Mayor 

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution 

Phoenix FM - Anne Conway OAM 

Outstanding Youth Contribution 

2MFM - Deema Jalloul 

Excellence in Indigenous Engagement 

8PAW - NAIDOC Week 2022 

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement 

2MFM - Elder Abuse; We Reject, Elder Safety; We Protect 

Excellence in Indigenous Broadcasting 

Wangki Yupurnanupurru Radio - Danggujarra - Wangki Yupurnanupurru Radio Breakfast Show  

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting 

979FM Melton Community Radio - Good Vibes Pilipinas (Filipino-Australian Program) 

Excellence in Technical Services 

3MBS Melbourne 103.5FM - Howard Stoney  

Excellence in Technical Innovation 

8PAW - Remote Monitoring Setup in RIMOs (Remote Indigenous Media Organisations) 


Excellence in Training 

3KND Kool ‘N’ Deadly - Too Deadly Training 

Excellence in Community Engagement 

Best Station Fundraising Campaign 

Eastside Radio 89.7FM - Thank You 

Best Station Fundraising Campaign: Small Station 

Outstanding Small Station Award 

Station Leadership Award 

Benjamin Erin - 8CCC 


Tony Staley Award For Excellence in Community Broadcasting  


Michael Law Award  

Dr Juliet Fox 

Facebook comments



We are excited to announce the finalists for the 2023 CBAA Community Radio Awards following a competitive campaign that saw more than 350 entries in over 30 categories. Be sure to attend the CBAA Conference on 2-4 November at Adelaide Oval to see who wins on the big night.


The full list of Award finalists can be found below. Winners will be announced at the CBAA Conference 27-29 October, along with the recepients of the Michael Law and Tony Staley Awards. 

Congratulations to all who has participated in this years program. 


The 2022 CBAA Community Radio Awards, is the community broadcasting sector's chance to come together to celebrate collective and individual achievement. This year's awards saw over 300 excellent entires across 30 categories, giving our judges a tough task in selecting this year's winners. A huge thank you to all those who entered the 2022 CBAA Community Radio Awards and congratulations to all the finalists and winners.