Our Board


The Board is the body elected by members to set policy for, and oversee the affairs of, the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. 

The responsibilities of the Board include setting and reviewing the CBAA strategic direction, monitoring organisational performance, appointing the General Manager, and deciding on key policy positions to take on behalf of the community broadcasting sector.

The Board consists of up to eight directors. The procedure for appointing directors can be found in the CBAA Constitution.

Current Directors

Phillip RandallPresident - Phillip Randall (Hope 103.2)

Phillip Randall is the CEO of Sydney’s Christian community radio station, 103.2. With more than 30 years experience in radio broadcasting, Phillip has worked full time in both commercial and community radio.

He began his media career in commercial radio in Albany Western Australia in 1977. After five years as an announcer and copywriter, he accepted a position as Stations Manager at network station 6BY Bridgetown.

Phillip first got involved in community radio in 1982 when he helped out during a test transmission in Perth at what was to become Sonshine FM. Not long after the station went to air full time in 1988, Phillip left commercial radio to take on the breakfast shift. He was appointed General Manager in 1989.

In late-1999, he moved to Sydney to become CEO of one of Australia’s first community stations, and Australia’s first Christian community station, 2CBA (103.2 FM). Since that time, the station has undergone major changes to programming, staff and facilities.

From 1999 to 2006 Phillip was President of the Association of Christian Broadcasters, the peak body for Christian broadcasting in Australia, representing licensed community radio stations, aspirant groups and program producers.

Since 2007 he has been involved with the push for a digital radio future for community broadcasting and represented the Sydney digital radio company on the Digital Radio Consultative Group of the CBAA. Phillip became a CBAA Board member in 2008, and serve as Vice President before becoming President in 2015.

Melanie WithnallVice President - Melanie Withnall (2ser)

Melanie is Managing Director of 2ser, a station that presents a range of talk and specialist music programming aimed at servicing the needs and interests of the members of the wider Sydney community.

Board Member - Anne Frankenberg Anne Frankenberg

Anne Frankenberg has experience in not-for-profit governance based on 15 cumulative years of membership of performing arts boards. Her extensive not-for-profit management career has included time as founding General Manager of Victorian Opera, Fundraising and Communications Director of International Women's Development Agency, and nearly four years as General Manager of 3MBS, Melbourne's fine music community station. She is currently Deputy General Manager of the Australian National Academy of Music.

Anne has a particular strength in fundraising theory and practice, and has shared this skill set with the sector via presentations at CBAA conferences and webinars. She has an degrees in Psychology and Music, and an Executive MBA.

Anne's time in community radio has sparked a passion for the diversity and strength of the sector. She has served on the CBAA Board since February 2016.


Natalie Pozdeev
Board Member - Natalie Pozdeev

Natalie has been involved in many aspects of community broadcasting throughout her career, including Station Manager of 2RRR in Ryde, Sydney and as Women's Representative of the CBAA Board.

In addition to this, Natalie has been employed in various roles in the areas of design, events management, media, community cultural development, music, theatre and student activities.




Board Member - Peter Rohweder (4EB FM)
Peter Rohweder

Peter is Manager of 4EB in Brisbane, a station that provide the communities of Brisbane a comprehensive ethnic broadcasting service. Peter has also been extensively involved with 4ZZZ and is a mainstay of the sector.

Tony Smythe
Board Member - Tony Smythe (Eastside Radio)

Tony Smythe has been involved in community radio for the past 15 years as a volunteer, producer, presenter, administrator and now the station manager at Eastside Radio. He has also performed various other roles including sponsorship, audio engineering and event management. He has a passion for free community events and over the past 5 years has overseen world music festivals, record fairs, jazz concerts, photographic exhibitions, film screenings, sustainability events and cycling initiatives.

With extensive experience in the art of raising funds Tony has devoted his life to community radio and admires the like-mindedness of others involved around the sector. He believes in a positive balance between work and life and relishes his role of giving back to the community.


Wayne StammBoard Member - Wayne Stamm (2NUR 103.7)

Wayne has been involved in community broadcasting for 13 years at 2NUR Newcastle, firstly in the Sales Managers role and as the General Manager for the past 8 years. His working life has been in both commercial and community radio, particularly in regional Australia.





Current Board Observers, Advisors and Representatives

The CBAA values the diversity of the community broadcasting sector and acknowledges that there are groups that are often underrepresented in decision making within the sector. As such, each year the Board, on recommendation of a plenary motion at the CBAA National Conference, appoints either a youth representative (person under 26 years of age) or a women’s representative to participate in Board meetings as an observer and advisor for a two year term. The youth representative is chosen in even numbered years and the women’s representative in odd numbered years.

Pip YounesYouth Representative - Pip Younes

Pip Younes holds a passion for community broadcasting and has dedicated her time and experience to making a contribution to supporting young people in the sector. Having finished a bachelor of Strategic Communication at La Trobe University in 2014, Pip took on the opportunity to work casually as a producer at ABC Central Victoria while also volunteering at Phoenix FM, Bendigo. She then worked for Southern Cross Austereo as a news journalist based in Mildura, covering both the Mildura and Mt Gambier areas/regions, before moving back to community radio. 

Women's Representative -  Emma Hart (PBS 106.7 FM / 3CR)Emma Hart

Feminist organising has defined Emma's experiences in community broadcasting. Emma began making radio in 2014 on 3CR Community Radio's Tuesday Breakfast Current Affairs Show, a show produced and presented solely by women and gender non-conforming people.

While balancing radio with a job upholding workers’ rights and her commitments as an active musician, Emma fell in love with community radio as a vibrant and resilient media form where communities control their own stories.

She now works as Interviews Coordinator at PBS106.7FM, and serves as a Director on 3CR’s Committee of Management. She delivers radio training at 3CR and is a producer for Women on the Line, a national feminist current affairs show which has been broadcasting from 3CR since 1986. Emma is also a producer for Sweet Dreams, a weekly DIY music show on 3CR which focuses on the music of women, gender non-conforming and queer people, and looks forward to bringing her experience pushing for fair representation in a community radio context to her new role.