Congratulations to all the 2021 CBAA Award winners.

Amy Leiper, 6th December 2021

With more than 320 entries across 30 award categories and representing a diverse cross-section of the community radio sector, this year’s contest had some stiff competition.

So far, we have announced the following winners via our Facebook Page:

Best New Radio Program

Meet Me at the Library, MainFM

Best Online Content

Wirrilimurra Lore, Ngaarda Media

Best Radio Program – Music

Mooncake, 3RRR

Best Radio Program – Talks

Rule of Thumb, City Park Radio

Best Special Event Broadcast

All Nighter At Home, Fresh 92.7

Best Special Event Broadcast

WA Mixtape, RTRFM 92.1

Best Station Fundraising Campaign

Collab Series Vol 1, RTRFM 92.1

Best Station Fundraising Campaign – Small Station  

The Unprecedented Edge Radio Fundraiser, Edge Radio 99.3 FM

Best Station Production  

Covid-19 CSAs, 3KNDKoolNDeadly

Best Station Production

Washing Your Hands jingle, 8PAW

Outstanding Youth Contribution

Fiona Bartholomaeus, RTRFM 92.1

Contribution to Australian Music - Radio Program

Breakfast with Taylah, RTRFM 92.1

Excellence in Community Engagement

SWR 99.9 FM

Excellence in Creative Audio

Pina Pina Jarrimi - Warlpiri manu English, 8PAW

Blokes Don’t Talk, 2MCE

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting  

Days in Australia, 90.1 NBC FM

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

The Penalty Box, Edge Radio 99.3 FM

Excellence in Indigenous Broadcasting

Law Matters, Noongar Radio

Excellence in Indigenous Engagement

Standing Strong Together, 3KNDKoolNDeadly

Excellence in Innovative Programming and Content

Blokes Don’t Talk, 2MCE

Excellence in Journalism

The Story of CHIRP - Community Health in Castlemaine, MainFM

Excellence in Music Presenting

Rok Riley, RTR 92.1

Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming

Covid Report, Wangki Radio

Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming

Law Matters,Noongar Radio

Excellence in Outside Broadcasting

Boola Bardip, RTR 92.1

Excellence in Technical Innovation

JOY’s New Home, Joy 949

Excellence in Technical Services

Dale Simpson, Vision Australia Radio

Excellence in Training

Student News Work Integrated Learning Program, 2NUR FM

Outstanding Small Station

Alive 90.5FM

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution

Darryn Capes-Davis, Alive 90.5FM

Contribution to Australian Music – Initiative

Right Here, Right Now, 4ZZZ

Station Leadership Award

Conrad Browne, Vision Australia Radio

National Features and Documentary Series 

Rideability - Melaine Robinson - Vision Australia Radio

Tony Staley Award 

Ngaarda Media - watch video


Winner for the Michael Law Award will be presented at the CBAA Conference in October 2022, be sure to purchase your tickets to the conference so you don’t miss out.  

Congratulations to all who has participated in this year’s program. 

Facebook comments



This year, the CBAA Awards received more than 320 entries across 30 award categories, representing a diverse cross-section of the community radio sector. 


The 2023 Community Radio Awards were a reflection of a dynamic time for the sector, with a record 350+ entries from a diverse range of stations across the country. Congratulations to all the finalists and winners, and a big thank you to everyone who entered.  


We are excited to announce the finalists for the 2023 CBAA Community Radio Awards following a competitive campaign that saw more than 350 entries in over 30 categories. Be sure to attend the CBAA Conference on 2-4 November at Adelaide Oval to see who wins on the big night.