Congratulations to the 2022 CBAA Community Radio Award Winners

Alex Crerar, 2nd November 2022

The last twelve months have shown the strength and value of community radio. Community broadcasters have been a trusted local voice in times of need as they connected community through isolation and natural disaster. Stations have shown themselves to be a linchpin of their communities’ resilience. Throughout recent challenges, stations, staff and volunteers have responded with excellent and innovative programming and events.

The 2022 CBAA Community Radio Awards, is the community broadcasting sector's chance to come together to celebrate collective and individual achievement. This year's awards saw over 300 excellent entires across 30 categories, giving our judges a tough task in selecting this year's winners. A huge thank you to all those who entered the 2022 CBAA Community Radio Awards and congratulations to all the finalists and winners. 


The 2022 Winners are listed below: 

Best New Radio Program

2DRY - Out In The Outback

Best Online Content

Eastside Radio - How Much Do You Know? Season 2

Best Radio Program – Music

107.3 HFM -  Beats Rhymes & Life

Best Radio Program – Talks

3CR - Yeah Nah Pasaran!

Best Special Event Broadcast

4EB - Women of the World Festival - Regional Broadcasts

Best Station Fundraising Campaign

PBS 106.7FM - Make It Home

Best Station Fundraising Campaign – Small Station  

Phoenix FM Bendigo - Inaugural Radiothon

Best Station Production  

89.9 TheLight - Unique – 89.9 TheLight

Outstanding Youth Contribution

Karenza De Leon – Alive 90.5 FM

Contribution to Australian Music - Radio Program

4ZZZ - The New Releases Show

Excellence in Community Engagement

3MBS - Cometogether Program

Excellence in Creative Audio

SYN Media - Twinemies

Excellence in Digital Media

2MFM - Supporting the mental health of ethnic communities during COVID-19 

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting  

CMS FM 91.1 - Radio Manpasand

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement

3ZZZ - Community controlled governance

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

Triple H FM - Triple H FM Coverage of NSW Women's Premier Cricket

Excellence in Indigenous Broadcasting

Ngaarda Media - "I will not be silenced": 11 year old Noongar head boy silenced by deputy principal

Excellence in Indigenous Engagement

2NURFM - Looking Through Windows - A multi-media Aboriginal history and art exhibition

Excellence in Innovative Programming and Content

Denmark FM - Tyler on Air

Excellence in Journalism

Ngaarda Media - Media outlet wrongly accuses indigenous man of abducting Cleo Smith

Excellence in Music Presenting

Noongar Radio - Tammy & Jay 

Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming

Bay FM 99.9 –  Floods and landslides devastate the Northern Rivers

Excellence in Outside Broadcasting

Vision Australia Radio - 2021 VIC Disability & Sports Recreation Festival

Excellence in Community Engagement 

3MBS - Cometogether Program

Excellence in Technical Innovation

8CCC - Remote Monitoring and Management of Networked Broadcast Infrastructure

Excellence in Technical Services

Fresh 92.7 - Fresh's 92.7's Engineering Team

Excellence in Training


Outstanding Small Station

Denmark FM

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution

Zheng Wang - CMS FM 91.1

Contribution to Australian Music – Initiative

FBi Radio - FBi SMAC Awards

Station Leadership Award

Tangiora Hinaki - Ngaarda Media

Michael Law Award

Jim Remedio

Philip Shine 

Tony Staley Award 

Bay FM 

Congratulations to all who has participated in this year’s program. 

Facebook comments



The full list of Award finalists can be found below. Winners will be announced at the CBAA Conference 27-29 October, along with the recepients of the Michael Law and Tony Staley Awards. 

Congratulations to all who has participated in this years program. 


We are excited to announce the finalists for the 2023 CBAA Community Radio Awards following a competitive campaign that saw more than 350 entries in over 30 categories. Be sure to attend the CBAA Conference on 2-4 November at Adelaide Oval to see who wins on the big night.


This article announces the 2021 CBAA Award Winners.