Board Changes at the CBAA

nbaskerville, 30th November 2018

The Annual General Meeting for the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia (CBAA) held on 10 November, saw a changing of the guard for some positions, as the board welcomed three new members and two were farewelled.

The CBAA welcomes Daniel Ahern (FBi Radio), Quinn Glasson (Curtin FM) and Jacquie Riddell as new Ordinary Board Members, as well as Anne Frankenburg, who was elected as Vice President. Molly George also comes on board as the CBAA’s new Youth Representative.

Quinn Glasson

Quinn has been the station manager for Curtin FM in Perth for 12 years and believes his Western Australian roots will give him a unique perspective to share with the board and the CBAA. Quinn has hands on perspective of the challenges geographical isolation can have on community stations and is happy to share his knowledge. 

Quinn is a respected member of the Western Australian community radio sector, and is looked to as a leader in his region.

Daniel Ahern

Daniel is the Program Director at Sydney’s FBi Radio, where he manages a large team of broadcasters, producers and programmers. 
He got his start in the sector at Sydney stations’ 2ser 107.3 and 2RRR, in a range of roles from managing the front desk, to operations, management and on-air announcing. Daniel also contributes content to and was covering the 2018 CBAA Conference at the time of the announcement of his appointment to the board. 

Alongside his community radio sector experience, Daniel brings a background in law, the music industry and, at 25 years old, Daniel offers a youth perspective to the board.

Jacquie Riddell

Over the past two months, Jacquie Riddell has been filling a casual vacancy board position. She was elected as an Ordinary Board Member at this year’s AGM. 

Jacquie started her media career as a volunteer producer and announcer, and then station manager of a large campus-based community radio station in New Zealand. She then served as the inaugural Director of the National Association of Student Broadcasters. 

She is experienced in not-for-profit governance, having worked both as a board director and alongside high-profile boards throughout her career, and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has also held leadership roles at the Art Gallery of NSW, Barangaroo, SBS, XYZnetworks’ music channels and Triple J. 

Anne Frankenberg

Anne Frankenberg has been Acting Vice President in 2017 following Melanie Withnall’s departure and was elected into the role at this year’s AGM. She has been on the board since as an Ordinary Member for three years.

Anne has not-for-profit governance experience based on 15 cumulative years of membership of performing arts boards and a women’s social and cultural club. She has reported to boards as a CEO, including nearly four years as General Manager of 3MBS.

She has a particular strength in fundraising, the principle focus of her current role and having substantially increased the income base of the station she managed.

Molly George

Following her successful nomination at the CBAA’s Youth Forum, Molly George (SYN Media) was announced as the Youth Representative for the CBAA board, for a term of two years. 

Molly George is the Membership Experience Manager at SYN Media in Melbourne. She became involved in community radio producing content for All The Best and she is currently producing a podcast called Babeland, which is about women and non binary artists in Melbourne. 

Molly takes the position from retiring youth representative Pip Younes. The CBAA would like to thank Pip for all her hard work and valued input over the past few years. 


The CBAA would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the board’s outgoing members, Tony Smythe and Natalie Pozdeev. Both Tony and Natalie have made significant contributions to the CBAA during their tenure and we thanks them for their dedication and expertise.

In addition to our new board members, Peter Rohweder (4EB,) and Wayne Stamm (2NUR) remain members of the board with Anne Frankenburg as Vice-President, and Phillip Randall (Hope FM) remaining as the President of the CBAA board. Emma Hart remains a Women’s Representative for the second year of her term.

Thank you to all members who participated in the board nomination process for 2018. 

Facebook comments



Phillip Randall, CBAA’s President, opened the 2020 CBAA AGM last month by commending everyone involved in the hundreds of community radio stations around Australia – stations which strive to contri


The CBAA welcomes its newest Board Member, Hannah Rogers, who will join the existing board for 2020/2021.

Hannah Rogers


Attendees at the CBAA AGM have heard that community radio in Australia has continued to grow in strength in the past 12 months with over 5.9 million listeners weekly and over 24,000 volunteers helping to provide services.