2019 CBAA Community Radio Award winners

Katrina Hughes, 29th October 2019

Hundreds of community broadcasters from across Australia have gathered in Melbourne for the 2019 CBAA Community Radio Awards to recognise excellence in community broadcasting.

This year, the CBAA presented awards to a diverse range of winners, with recipients from a large variety of locations, sizes and communities, and whose achievements range all aspects of community broadcasting.

David Turrell, an enduring member of community media and CEO of 1079 LifeFM took out the prestigious Michael Law Award for a sustained and outstanding contribution to community broadcasting. David advocates the interests of Radio and TV stations, program producers and industry professionals. 

Wilcannia River Radio, a station that constantly demonstrates a commitment to the survival and celebration of arts, language and culture as part of all station operations, were bestowed the Tony Staley Award for Excellence in Community Radio

CBAA Chief Executive Officer Jon Bisset says the awards are a fantastic opportunity to reflect on the sector's successes and value.

“These awards are a highlight of each year and it’s been fantastic to recognise station achievements in 2019. The work of the winners is a glimpse into the impact of community radio and what it is that the 5.7 million listeners across the country tune in for each week. These programs, stations and people play a role in giving Australian communities access to rich, diverse, participatory and reflective media, strengthening communities and providing a platform for important conversations within and between them. Congratulations all!”

See the full list of award winners is below.


2019 CBAA Community Radio Awards

Best New Radio Program

  • That's What I Call Science (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)

Best Online Content

  • The AFL Multicultural Football Show (3ZZZ, Melbourne, VIC)

Best Radio Program: Music

  • Revolver - A History of Feminist Music (RTRFM 92.1, Perth, WA)

Best Radio Program: Talks

  • ArtSwank (MAINfm, Castlemaine, VIC)

Best Special Event Broadcast

  • Mardi Gras Special 2019 (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)

Best Station Fundraising Campaign

  • You Make Hope Possible, (Hope 103.2, Sydney, NSW)

Best Station Production

  • Will Ryan (FBi Radio, Sydney, NSW)

Contribution to Australian Music: Initiative

  • Music Masala, A Spicy Blend of Music and Life (Radio 4EB, Brisbane, QLD)

Contribution to Australian Music: Radio Program

  • The Dotted Line | Dotted Live (3MDR, Melbourne, VIC)

Excellence in Community Engagement

  • School of Thought (897fm, Perth, WA)

Excellence in Creative Audio

  • History Lab (2SER, Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in Digital Media

  • Wangki Radio (Wangki Radio, Fitzroy Crossing, WA)

Excellence in Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting

  • Ireland Calling (2RDJ, Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in Indigenous Broadcasting

  • Carnarvon Lock Hospital Centennial (Ngaarda Media, Roebourne, WA)

Excellence in Innovative Programming and Content

  • Checkpoint (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)

Excellence in Journalism

  • Police, Perverts & Public Exposure: Uncovering Byron's Nude Beach (Bay FM 99.9,  Byron Bay, NSW)

Excellence in Music Presenting

  • Road to Bluesfest (Triple H 100.1FM, Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in News & Current Affairs Programming

  • The Edge (Wangki Radio, Fitzroy Crossing, WA)

Excellence in Outside Broadcasting

  • Ballina Meet the Candidates 2019 (Bay FM 99.9, Byron Bay, NSW)

Excellence in Technical Innovation

  • Creative Automation Solution by Alastair Ling (Edge Radio, Hobart, TAS)

Excellence in Technical Services

  • Jim Bickers (Fleurieu FM, Victor Harbor, SA)

Excellence in Training

  • Hear Me Roar (SYN Media, Melbourne, VIC)

Outstanding Small Station Award

  • 4CRM -Something for Everyone (4CRM, Mackay, QLD)

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution

  • Maurice Besgrove – Triple T 103.9 (Townsville, QLD)

Outstanding Youth Contribution

  • Sandy Al-Aweik - 92.1 2MFM - Muslim Community Radio (Sydney, NSW)

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming

  • Across The Park (2SER, Sydney, NSW)

Tony Staley Award for Excellence in Community Broadcasting

  • Wilcannia River Radio

Station Leadership Award

  • Gerry “Gman” Terati Lyons (3KND, Melbourne, VIC)

Michael Law Award

  • David Turrell, 1079 LifeFM

Facebook comments



The finalists for the 2019 CBAA Community Radio Awards have been announced.


The finalists for the 2018 CBAA Community Radio Awards for the best in Australia’s community broadcasting sector have been announced.


The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia today congratulates finalists in the 2015 CBAA Community Radio Awards.