2018 CBAA Community Radio Awards

2018 CBAA Community Radio Awards Winners Announced

Helen Henry, 12th November 2018

Tonight, hundreds of community broadcasters from across Australia gathered on the Gold Coast for the 2018 CBAA Community Radio Awards to recognise excellence in community broadcasting.

This year, the CBAA introduced a number of new categories to its annual awards program, and presented 34 awards across 33 categories. The winners were diverse, with recipients from a large variety of locations, sizes and communities, and whose achievements range all aspects of community broadcasting.

John Maizels, president of Technorama, a community radio support organisation for technologists, and sector veteran, took out the prestigious Michael Law Award for a sustained and outstanding contribution to community broadcasting. John has been involved with community radio in Australia for over 40 years, and currently works in a training capacity with industry trainer, CMTO (Community Media Training Organisation) in addition to running Technorama. John is a long-term delegate of the CBAA Annual Conference and awards night.

2MFM received the Tony Staley Award for station excellence, and receives a cash prize of $2,500 thanks to the Community Broadcasting Foundation. 2MFM is a Muslim community radio station based in Western Sydney and was awarded the honour for actively promoting the values of community broadcasting in the areas of democracy, diversity, access and independence.

CBAA Chief Executive Officer Jon Bisset says the awards are a fantastic opportunity to reflect on the sector's successes and value.

“These awards are a highlight of each year and it’s been fantastic to recognise more achievements than ever before in 2018. The work of the winners is a glimpse into impact of community radio and what it is that the 5.7 million listeners across the country tune in for each week. These programs, stations and people play a role in giving Australian communities access to rich, diverse, participatory and reflective media, strengthening communities and providing a platform for important conversations within and between them. Congratulations all!”

A full list of award winners is available below.

2018 CBAA Community Radio Awards

National Features & Documentary Series:

The Runners’ Guide - Katharina Loesche, The Runners’ Guide, 4EB (Brisbane, QLD)

Best Station Production:

Passing on Wisdom: Jason’s Diabetes Story - Radio MAMA (Midwest Aboriginal Media Association­) (Geraldton, WA)

Best Station Fundraising Campaign:

Your Voice for Hope Appeal – June 2017 - Light FM 89.9 (Melbourne, VIC)


Best Station Fundraising Campaign – Small Station:

Radiothon Month - MAINfm 94.9 (Castlemaine, VIC)


Best New Radio Program:

Rainbow KINection - Noongar Radio 100.9 FM (Perth, WA)


Best Radio Program – Music:

Top 100 Indigenous Songs of All Time - 3KND 1503 AM (Melbourne, VIC)

Best Radio Program – Talks:

Talk the Talk - RTRFM 92.1 (Perth, WA)


Excellence In Training:

3PVR Plenty Valley FM 88.6 (Melbourne, VIC)


Contribution to Australian Music – Radio Program:

2 WINNERS: Breaking Bands - 2RRR 88.5 FM (Henley, NSW)

& Definition Radio - 1WAY FM 91.9 (Canberra, ACT)

Contribution to Australian Music- Initiative:

Tracks - FBi Radio (Sydney, NSW)

Outstanding Youth Contribution:

Catherine Webb (SYN Media, Melbourne, VIC / Gippsland FM 104.7, Morwell, VIC)

Outstanding Volunteer Contribution:

Matoc Achol (3ZZZ, Melbourne, VIC)

Excellence in Technical Services:

Richard Fleming (2ser 107.3, Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in Technical Innovation:

Gerard Pyne (QRAM, QLD)

Excellence In Journalism:

Mia Armitage (Bay FM 99.9, Byron Bay, NSW)

Excellence In Indigenous Engagement: 

Wangki Radio (Fitzroy Crossing, WA)

Excellence In Indigenous Broadcasting:

Marion Cheedy’s Juluwarlu Gems - Ngaarda Radio (Roeburne, WA)

Excellence In Ethnic and Multicultural Engagement:

4EB FM 98.1 (Brisbane, QLD)

Excellence In Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasting:

Sri Lankan Show - 3MDR 97.1 FM (Melbourne, VIC)

Excellence In Community Engagement: 

4MBS (Brisbane, QLD)

Excellence In News & Current Affairs Programming:

Another World - Eastside 89.7 FM (Sydney, NSW)

Troy Garner Excellence in Sports Programming:

Sunday Sports Round Up - Alive 90.5 FM (Baulkham Hills, NSW)

Excellence In Creative Audio:

The Tourist  - Vision Australia Radio Perth (WA)

Excellence In Innovative Programming and Content:

TGIYES - FBi Radio (Sydney, NSW)

Excellence in Music Presenting:

Jason Heath (JOY 94.9, Melbourne, VIC)

Excellence In Digital Media:

The View From Here – Fremantle Series - RTRFM 92.1 (Perth, WA)

Best Online Content:

Slightly Odway - RTRFM 92.1 (Perth, WA)

Excellence in Outside Broadcasting:

Carols In The Park - Hills Radio 88.9 FM (Mount Barker, SA)

Best Special Event Broadcast:

JB Tribute - Noongar Radio 100.9 FM (Perth, WA)

Outstanding Small Station Award:

Alpine Radio 96.5 FM (Mount Beauty, VIC)

Station Leadership Award:

Melanie Withnall - 2ser 107.3 FM (Sydney, NSW)

Tony Staley Award:

2MFM Muslim Community Radio 92.1 (Sydney, NSW)

Michael Law Award:

John Maizels

The 2018 CBAA Awards were presented with the support of AFTRS, McNair Yellowsquares, APRA AMCOS, PPCA, Community Broadcasting Foundation, Hindenburg, Broadcast Components, Community Media Training Organisation (CMTO,) and Pacific Live Media.

Community broadcasting is a vital part of the Australian media landscape. More than 450 community radio stations across the country provide a diverse range of viewpoints that enrich the social and cultural fabric of Australian society and contribute to public interest outcomes, foster social inclusion, generate a high level of local content and contribute to media diversity.

The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia (CBAA) champions community broadcasting by building stations’ capability and creating a healthy environment for the sector to thrive.

Facebook comments



The finalists for the 2018 CBAA Community Radio Awards for the best in Australia’s community broadcasting sector have been announced.


The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia today congratulates finalists in the 2015 CBAA Community Radio Awards.


Last night, community broadcasters from across Australia gathered in Terrigal NSW for the 2015 CBAA Community Radio Awards.